Homestar Runner Wiki Forum

A companion to the Homestar Runner Wiki
It is currently Sat Jun 06, 2020 10:55 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 889 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 ... 30  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 6:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 4:03 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Adelaide, SA
Homeschool Winner wrote:
But when I got to level 1.2 and died and went back to the menu, I still couldn't click on continue, so I had to start over. How do I continue?


Seems to be a common problem, not being able to continue. I'm experiencing the same problem myself, and have no idea what to do about it. :(

Progress update on level stuff. I'm working on an Access database which, in theory, should be able to export an XML file which would contain all the data, correctly formatted for a new level. All you'd need to do is type in X/Y values and select an object from the list. *crosses fingers* Will update as I continue.

-B


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 7:24 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2004 4:54 am
Posts: 63
sounds awesome!
and I finally beat it! in one go! cause I can't continue either!

_________________
www.shaeffer007.tk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 7:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 3:45 pm
Posts: 15
beeawwb, I didn't get too involved with the coordinates, so it's very possible that my ranges are way off. Mostly I focused on what all of the tags do, and what the object indexes are. Have you found this information to be accurate?

EDIT:
The more I play with this, the more I find out. You are right, beeawb, the engine accepts negative Y values. As a matter of fact, I have gone all the way up to -1950 so far with no errors. I assume that there is no limit apart from what a particular machine can handle. I will update my editing guide to reflect this.

Is your Access database going to be a standalone, or does it require the user to have MS Access installed on their machine? BTW, I'd love to see someone who is proficient in Flash create a level designer.

Thanks.

_________________
Image
Chorch... That must be how Coach Z says Cheech.


Last edited by Chorch on Wed Apr 06, 2005 5:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 9:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 5:43 pm
Posts: 193
Location: Litchfield, ME
Noooooooo!!!!!! I just made it to the beginning of level three after beating the chicken boss and then I died! And the continue wasn't working for me! Why?!?!!! I did like him trying to jump over the wall though. That cracked me up.

_________________
"Sorry, musta got a toenail caught in my throat!"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: HEY!
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 1:59 pm
Posts: 6
I'm mad at the Brothers Chaps! They stole my idea!
CLICK HERE TO FIND OUT MORE

And yes, if you check the post "Homestar Runner Game Ideas", I posted a long time ago about my Megaman HR sprites. ARGH!

_________________
"Eh! Steve!"
"Eh! Greg!"
Eh! Steven!"

I Own the DVD, and have watched the whole set already. Now if I can only find out how the get the commentary and easter eggs!

''Hey, Strong Bad, you jumped over some of my busses"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 10:51 pm
Posts: 2378
Location: In the Aeroplane over the Sea
if you really made those you should be happy. It should be an honor to have your fanstuff become a big huge monster update!

_________________
Sister, now that we're grieving
Our fingers will falter
Our lungs will be leaking
All over each other and without even speaking
We'll know that it's over and smile and go greeting
Whatever comes next


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 10:25 pm
Posts: 2439
Location: Empire of Sparkletania
After taking a good look at the scenery I realized that the backround looks like Metropolis from Ratchet & Clank. Does anyone agree?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:59 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 10:51 pm
Posts: 2378
Location: In the Aeroplane over the Sea
somewhat. Sorta...kinda

_________________
Sister, now that we're grieving
Our fingers will falter
Our lungs will be leaking
All over each other and without even speaking
We'll know that it's over and smile and go greeting
Whatever comes next


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 11:28 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2005 12:26 am
Posts: 682
Location: Why?! Is the FBI after me?!
What does it mean by "hold B" in the instruction booklet?

_________________
Sigs are for n00bs


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 11:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 10:51 pm
Posts: 2378
Location: In the Aeroplane over the Sea
it means "Hold this button thus distracting you from the buttons that matter thus killing you."

_________________
Sister, now that we're grieving
Our fingers will falter
Our lungs will be leaking
All over each other and without even speaking
We'll know that it's over and smile and go greeting
Whatever comes next


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 11:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 4:29 pm
Posts: 142
Location: TCYBCBY
Homeschool Winner wrote:
Boy, I'm bad at that game. After much trying, I finally got to level 1.2, but I barely got past the first screen. Then I found out that it saves for every full level, not the fractions of levels. For sooth!

ditto Homeschooly :sad:

_________________
I hate putting on banners here


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 11:35 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 4:03 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Adelaide, SA
Chorch wrote:
beeawwb, I didn't get too involved with the coordinates, so it's very possible that my ranges are way off. Mostly I focused on what all of the tags do, and what the object indexes are. Have you found this information to be accurate?

EDIT:
The more I play with this, the more I find out. You are right, beeawb, the engine accepts negative Y values. As a matter of fact, I have gone all the way up to -1950 so far with no errors. I assume that there is no limit apart from what a particular machine can handle. I will update my editing guide to reflect this.

Is your Access database going to be a standalone, or does it require the user to have MS Access installed on their machine? BTW, I'd love to see someone who is proficient in Flash create a level designer.

Thanks.


So far, the information is accurate as far as I can tell. At this stage I'm focusing on being able to generate XML from Access, and get the tags to print out correctly. I'm not sure how it's going to end up to be honest. And if it goes well, I should be able to get it standalone. But I'm not sure at this stage. Also, it won't be graphical, it will just be a quick way to get the information in. I too would love to see a Flash level creator, but I don't know if it would be possible.

Here's a thought that just occurred to me. What if somebody was able to make a flash window that you could click and object in, and drag it around and it would report the X/Y co-ordinates. Then you could click L/R buttons to "scroll" the window a preset amount of X, so that numbers would be reported accurately. That would help for the object placement aspect. But then, if that was done, it's a short hop to creating the XML from the objects placed. I think...

-B


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 11:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2005 12:26 am
Posts: 682
Location: Why?! Is the FBI after me?!
No Toppings wrote:
it means "Hold this button thus distracting you from the buttons that matter thus killing you."


Are you making that up?

_________________
Sigs are for n00bs


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 11:37 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 10:51 pm
Posts: 2378
Location: In the Aeroplane over the Sea
technically not. Although its not what the manual says, ive tried it, it makes it supremley hard to play the game.

_________________
Sister, now that we're grieving
Our fingers will falter
Our lungs will be leaking
All over each other and without even speaking
We'll know that it's over and smile and go greeting
Whatever comes next


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 11:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2005 12:26 am
Posts: 682
Location: Why?! Is the FBI after me?!
I guess, i tought it would unlock something special.

_________________
Sigs are for n00bs


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 11:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 10:51 pm
Posts: 2378
Location: In the Aeroplane over the Sea
nope, definatley not.

_________________
Sister, now that we're grieving
Our fingers will falter
Our lungs will be leaking
All over each other and without even speaking
We'll know that it's over and smile and go greeting
Whatever comes next


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 12:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 4:53 am
Posts: 32
Location: Antarctica...or space
I beat the game. It wasn't too hard compared to the real Megaman old-school games. Incidently, I got bored and made Stinkoman GIF avvies for everybody.

You can simultaneously vote for and take home your favorite one. DOUBLE DEUUUUUUUUUUUUUUCCCEE!!!!!!!
http://forum.hrwiki.org/viewtopic.php?t=2416


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 12:21 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 1:00 am
Posts: 3849
Location: Best Coast
nigy wrote:
when i go to the xml pages it says some error with xml and .....how do you create your own levels?

Save all the files (stinkogame.swf, objectlibrary.swf, XMLs), put the XMLs in a folder named "levelData." Then, open the XMLs in notepad and see if you understand how the file works. If you don't, someone around here'll (I'm trying) maybe make a level editor.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 1:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2004 5:13 pm
Posts: 5
Has anyone actually made any playable levels yet?

_________________
bleh?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 1:48 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 12:59 am
Posts: 401
Location: Bye.
w000000t!!!!!!!!!! level 1.3 FINALLY! That brain guy is hard!

_________________
Melonade Man: Gone forever.
Bye.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 2:00 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 3:45 pm
Posts: 15
One of the most tedious parts of hand-coding the levels is having to reload the flash file and go through the startup screens. I know you can click through them to speed it up some, but is it possible for a Flash guru to cut all that stuff out and have a .swf file that instantly starts on the level map? That would save a lot of time and frustration.

_________________
Image
Chorch... That must be how Coach Z says Cheech.


Last edited by Chorch on Wed Apr 06, 2005 5:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 2:04 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 11:40 pm
Posts: 302
Location: http://www.insertdisctwo.com/
When you fight the brain, to dodge his first blast of fire ball type things you have to get in the middle of the screen or farther away from the brain than the middle. With the second blast of the fire stuff you have to get closer to him so that the fire goes over you.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 2:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 1:07 am
Posts: 3370
Location: San Diego Zoo
Wow, I suck at this game. Oh well. It is a good game. Hard to beat though!
8/10

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 2:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2004 5:13 pm
Posts: 5
Okay I made a small level...
Anyone know where I can upload the .xml file?

_________________
bleh?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 3:19 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 6:18 am
Posts: 682
Location: Don't look behind you.
The game still wont save on my computer, though it will on my brother's pc. Sucks that I have to beat it in one go. Ah well.

I hope that when they add more levels, they possibly add more features. Like getting to use the double deuce against the final boss of the game when they finally get to it or something.


On a sidenote -- that Hold B thing is a joke that I think someone else also mentioned... in the NES manual for mario it says to "hold B" to make him run faster. I think they listed it in the "tips" at the end, but I'm not sure.

I don't think it's much of a distraction or makes the game hard. I can hold b and still fire the only two buttons with one hand while moving with the other.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 3:42 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2005 3:38 am
Posts: 1904
Location: Man On The Moon
Woo Hoo! The continue feature finally works for me! Now, I'm at level 2.1. I like the line "chicken soup with an dumpling!"

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 3:43 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 3:45 pm
Posts: 15
For those of you who are experiencing trouble with the "Continute" feature not working, are you by chance running Firefox? I cannot continue in FF, but the feature works fine in IE. This may have to do with the default security settings. I imagine it won't be long before the creators realize this is a problem and offer some kind of solution, either by recommending the appropriate browser settings or by changing the means by which the continue data is stored/retrieved. Long story short, if it's not working, try another browser.

EDIT: On another note, I finally took the time to play through the game. It's definitely on par with MegaMan in terms of difficulty. Being able to save makes all the difference in the world. Can I just say, I love the caption for Level 3 on the Continute screen: "Stinkoman overcompensates and has to collect random crap," it just contrasts so well against all the bad translation. Can't wait to see more levels!

_________________
Image
Chorch... That must be how Coach Z says Cheech.


Last edited by Chorch on Wed Apr 06, 2005 5:41 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 3:44 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 6:18 am
Posts: 682
Location: Don't look behind you.
I figured out what was making the game NOT SAVE. At least on MY computer using Internet Explorer.

I turned the security settings in IE down from "medium" to "medium-low" and it now saves.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 3:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:55 pm
Posts: 81
ed 'lim' smilde wrote:
nigy wrote:
when i go to the xml pages it says some error with xml and .....how do you create your own levels?

Save all the files (stinkogame.swf, objectlibrary.swf, XMLs), put the XMLs in a folder named "levelData." Then, open the XMLs in notepad and see if you understand how the file works. If you don't, someone around here'll (I'm trying) maybe make a level editor.


the "leveldata" folder, is that something i create or what?

_________________
Hippos can breath fire, I swear.

Bush Sux0rz


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 4:47 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2005 4:40 am
Posts: 14
Sigh. The save feature refuses to work with me on Safari.

EDIT: It works now, after Version 1.3.

_________________
Image


Last edited by Tuquee: frozen in tim-- on Fri Mar 25, 2005 7:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 889 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 ... 30  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group