Homestar Runner Wiki Forum

A companion to the Homestar Runner Wiki
It is currently Tue Dec 07, 2021 12:46 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 205 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2005 1:07 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2005 2:34 pm
Posts: 646
Location: Where do you think? Right here sitting at my computer. DUH!
Dark_Link_Skywalker wrote:
Google is my friend, true, but every way I can find to run an exe on a mac is either incompatible with my version of this computer, or costs money. Google is a good pal, but he is not good when it comes to searching for stuff that is very interesting.


Don't worry man, I know how you feel. I run on a mac to. I don't feel like byeing virtual PC either, so I guess I'll never put my opinion on this thing so... I vote a 0/10 for your siggy...I mean game editor.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2005 1:30 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 11:16 pm
Posts: 692
Location: I do stuff
You know what...I think i may be able to get a Mac version running. I'll talk to superjoe30 and see if he may be willing to let me port it.

_________________
Homerun Starrer wrote:
Sinscreen! It protects your skin from evil!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: REAL basic
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 2:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 5:59 am
Posts: 44
Location: Peoria, Arizona, United States
Wow, this REAL basic thing is really neat! Thanks for showing it to me.

Soon Mac and Linux users will be able to use the Stinkoman Level Editor!

_________________
Superjoe Software


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 8:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 11:16 pm
Posts: 692
Location: I do stuff
Yeah, again, I'll be available to run either OS if you need someone doing it natively. I wouldn't mind maintaining the ports.

_________________
Homerun Starrer wrote:
Sinscreen! It protects your skin from evil!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: level editor
PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2005 2:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 5:59 am
Posts: 44
Location: Peoria, Arizona, United States
This is really sloppy and I'm sure it's full of bugs, but you can edit level 9 levels with it.

http://joesarcade.tripod.com/stinkoedit.htm

I have a ton of projects I'm working on right now, but when the work load lightens, I'll work out a version that is not a "pre-release."

tangy wrote:
Yeah, again, I'll be available to run either OS if you need someone doing it natively. I wouldn't mind maintaining the ports.

Ok, thanks. I'll take a while to port because a lot of my code is windows-only. I have to learn how to read and write files and how the file system works in Mac and Linux.

_________________
Superjoe Software


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: level editor
PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2005 6:53 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 11:16 pm
Posts: 692
Location: I do stuff
superjoe30 wrote:
tangy wrote:
Yeah, again, I'll be available to run either OS if you need someone doing it natively. I wouldn't mind maintaining the ports.

Ok, thanks. I'll take a while to port because a lot of my code is windows-only. I have to learn how to read and write files and how the file system works in Mac and Linux.


REALBasic should work the same on all platforms, if not, I'll help you fix it up.

_________________
Homerun Starrer wrote:
Sinscreen! It protects your skin from evil!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Help with stinkoman level editor run. It just don't do anyth
PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 9:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 9:23 pm
Posts: 13
I tried to run that program again but it don't work. This is annoying the crap out of me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help with stinkoman level editor run. It just don't do a
PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 2:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 5:59 am
Posts: 44
Location: Peoria, Arizona, United States
markyjoe1990 wrote:
I tried to run that program again but it don't work. This is annoying the crap out of me.

It'll probably work when I port to REALbasic.

_________________
Superjoe Software


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: blank
PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 11:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 9:23 pm
Posts: 13
I c... :-|


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: level editor
PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 10:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 21, 2005 1:35 pm
Posts: 75
Location: Cubeland
superjoe30 wrote:
This is really sloppy and I'm sure it's full of bugs, but you can edit level 9 levels with it.

http://joesarcade.tripod.com/stinkoedit.htm

I have a ton of projects I'm working on right now, but when the work load lightens, I'll work out a version that is not a "pre-release."

tangy wrote:
Yeah, again, I'll be available to run either OS if you need someone doing it natively. I wouldn't mind maintaining the ports.

Ok, thanks. I'll take a while to port because a lot of my code is windows-only. I have to learn how to read and write files and how the file system works in Mac and Linux.


Actually, I have found only one bug.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: level editor
PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2005 2:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 5:59 am
Posts: 44
Location: Peoria, Arizona, United States
Oh yeah I forgot to ask, how do you guys like that map I added?

Total Spaceship Guy3 wrote:

Actually, I have found only one bug.


So, what is it?

_________________
Superjoe Software


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 10:37 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 21, 2005 1:35 pm
Posts: 75
Location: Cubeland
I, um.... Forget now.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: BUGS!
PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 2:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 5:59 am
Posts: 44
Location: Peoria, Arizona, United States
Total Spaceship Guy3 wrote:
I, um.... Forget now.


Oh. Well if it happens again, tell me so I can fix it.

_________________
Superjoe Software


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 9:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 21, 2005 1:35 pm
Posts: 75
Location: Cubeland
Oh! Oh! I remember! I found two now.

1. Sometimes when I choose more that one enemy, I can't unselect them. And I can't do anything else for about 1 minute when it suddenly fixe itself.
2. When you Scroll, The Background is Cut Off Until you scroll a bit farther.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 11:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 5:59 am
Posts: 44
Location: Peoria, Arizona, United States
Yeah the background is pretty messed up; if you haven't noticed it goes backwards. But that doesn't mess with your editing.

That first error you were describing sounds like a painting error. Which means that the program is just displaying the graphics wrong. If it is a painting error, all you have to do is get the program to repaint/refresh. To do this, minimize the program and then bring it up again. If it fixed the error, that means it was a painting error.

_________________
Superjoe Software


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Level Editor, Website, Custom Levels
PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2006 6:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 5:59 am
Posts: 44
Location: Peoria, Arizona, United States
Hey everyone,

I have a new website with a custom stinkoman levels page! Come download, upload, and rate levels:
http://www.superjoesoftware.be/software ... levels.cgi

_________________
Superjoe Software


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2006 7:14 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 1:06 am
Posts: 3040
Location: In Stu
Hey! I didn't know you came on here! I've been using your editor for a while, and I have to say it rocks. And now that I can upload some of my levels, you rock even more! Awesome!!!

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2006 7:24 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2005 3:57 pm
Posts: 2588
Location: An underground fortress in Stu's backyard
Mr.KISS wrote:
Hey! I didn't know you came on here! I've been using your editor for a while, and I have to say it rocks. And now that I can upload some of my levels, you rock even more! Awesome!!!


Can you show us URLs of some of them?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2006 7:25 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 1:06 am
Posts: 3040
Location: In Stu
Sure! Go on the link that Superjoe guy posted and go on the second page. The level is called "Obstacle course" (it's near the bottom).

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2006 6:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 1:00 am
Posts: 3849
Location: Best Coast
Mr.KISS wrote:
Hey! I didn't know you came on here! I've been using your editor for a while, and I have to say it rocks. And now that I can upload some of my levels, you rock even more! Awesome!!!

Curse you! I hate that ladder! Can't! Get! ON!
I uploaded a few.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2006 11:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 1:06 am
Posts: 3040
Location: In Stu
ed 'lim' smilde wrote:
Mr.KISS wrote:
Hey! I didn't know you came on here! I've been using your editor for a while, and I have to say it rocks. And now that I can upload some of my levels, you rock even more! Awesome!!!

Curse you! I hate that ladder! Can't! Get! ON!
I uploaded a few.


Which one? there's a butt load of suspended ones and crap (there's a really hard one that just ticks the tip of your hand almost near themiddle of the level, or the begginijg if you took that cheat ladder I put near the start.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2006 12:14 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 1:00 am
Posts: 3849
Location: Best Coast
Mr.KISS wrote:
Which one? there's a butt load of suspended ones and crap (there's a really hard one that just ticks the tip of your hand almost near themiddle of the level, or the begginijg if you took that cheat ladder I put near the start.
Grrrr. Like all of them. I'm going to beat it, I promise.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2006 12:16 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 1:06 am
Posts: 3040
Location: In Stu
ed 'lim' smilde wrote:
Mr.KISS wrote:
Which one? there's a butt load of suspended ones and crap (there's a really hard one that just ticks the tip of your hand almost near themiddle of the level, or the begginijg if you took that cheat ladder I put near the start.
Grrrr. Like all of them. I'm going to beat it, I promise.


I did a couple of yours, I liked that hard one. Especially when all the stuff...happened.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2006 12:28 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 1:00 am
Posts: 3849
Location: Best Coast
Those levels I made were still with my old level editor I tried to make. Now that I have superjoe's, I should be able to make some really good/long/hard ones. As for your level, I got through the ladders, I just can't figure out how to get over that cactus way at the top. The one right by the powerup. (grr... superjoe said it took him a long time to beat)

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2006 12:34 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 1:06 am
Posts: 3040
Location: In Stu
Ya, you got to lan right on the corner to get by that one, I put that power up there so that if you hit the cactus thing, you have to die slowly in that pit with full health. :)

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2006 2:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 5:59 am
Posts: 44
Location: Peoria, Arizona, United States
Mr.KISS wrote:
Ya, you got to lan right on the corner to get by that one, I put that power up there so that if you hit the cactus thing, you have to die slowly in that pit with full health. :)


That happened to me! Augh!

I defeated your level though. It was hard! It took me about 6 lives and 30 minutes to beat. I rated it a '5' ;)

_________________
Superjoe Software


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2006 2:39 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 1:06 am
Posts: 3040
Location: In Stu
I made a new one. Hopefully this will be easier. I made it shorter this time, but it has enimies in it so....Ya. Try it out.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: level editor
PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 10:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 5:59 am
Posts: 44
Location: Peoria, Arizona, United States
Hey guys. Just letting you know that I'm working on the ol' level editor again. Here are some improvements so far:
    -made warp point draggable
    -fixed control+arrow keys undo function
    -made shift + mouse do straight lines
    -made right click on multiple selection pop menu instead of changing selection
    -fixed background error
    -added negatory background
    -added evil forest background
    -added mouse wheel scroll


I don't know if anybody noticed, but my website went bye bye. Eventually I'll find another host. Sorry about that for anybody who cares.

Mac users: I'm learning how to program for Macs, so hang in there.

_________________
Superjoe Software


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 5:07 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2005 1:09 am
Posts: 8987
Location: He remembered Socks!
is there anyway to impliment a new Boss into a custom level?

_________________
ImageImage


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: level editing
PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 5:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 5:59 am
Posts: 44
Location: Peoria, Arizona, United States
Nope. Sorry. The bosses are contained in the game file, not the level files.

_________________
Superjoe Software


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 205 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group