Homestar Runner Wiki Forum

A companion to the Homestar Runner Wiki
It is currently Sun May 22, 2022 7:19 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 205 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: StinkoMan 20X6 (Game) Level Editing
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 11:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 4:03 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Adelaide, SA
I can't really take any credit for starting the level editing process, I'm just on the bandwagon now, but as discussed in the actual game thread, it's probably more useful to confine talk about game editing (so we don't get bogged down in coordinates and XML tags) in a different thread. And here it is.

To Start with, Prophet discovered the file structure for the game, which can be found here.

http://forum.hrwiki.org/viewtopic.php?p=68224#68224
And here
http://www.geocities.com/nightmareproph ... n_help.txt

Then Chorch created his guide to level editing, which broke down the XML tags and possible values.

http://www.nickbair.net/files/stinkoman_lvl_guide.txt

And so far there are two custom levels being designed.

One from PopTart
http://forum.hrwiki.org/viewtopic.php?p=69246#69246
(Copy code into a new text file, then save it as an XML)

One (and more coming) in progress from me.
http://members.dodo.com.au/~odoru_unit/level1.1.1.xml

So, I think that's a good summary so far.

-B


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2005 5:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:55 pm
Posts: 81
im taking a shot at my first level, and the most time taking thing is moving the ladder 10 to the right, reopening hte swf file, lalal etc.

how hard and how would i go about finding the length/hight of objects? I know chorch is already doin this for his guide, thanks (i got some grass, two enemies and a ladder :) )

_________________
Hippos can breath fire, I swear.

Bush Sux0rz


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2005 5:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 9:35 pm
Posts: 219
Location: In my own little world....
it seems my cp can't save under "xml"!

_________________
Remember your special and unique, but so is everyone else, so your not all that diffrent!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2005 2:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:55 pm
Posts: 81
what do you mean? im you want to save a .txt file in notepad or something as .xml, it may not be an option in the drop down menu, if you want to name it abv.xml, jsut type in abv.xml.

_________________
Hippos can breath fire, I swear.

Bush Sux0rz


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2005 5:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 9:35 pm
Posts: 219
Location: In my own little world....
Ok, so I save it in Xml, now what?

_________________
Remember your special and unique, but so is everyone else, so your not all that diffrent!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2005 9:33 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 4:03 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Adelaide, SA
Have you copied all the required files to a folder on your hard drive, as directed in the first post of this thread? Once you've done that, just replace level1.1.1.xml with the new level file, and play the game.


On the editing note, I've discovered that the value of <d> does matter, when placing objects. If you try and layer multiple objects on top of eachother, the objects created last (higher number) will be on top of the lower ones. You can use this to cut cut off the ends of objects such as walls, or long ground pieces.

-B


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2005 10:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 11:16 pm
Posts: 692
Location: I do stuff
Status report for StinkoEditor

Complete/mostly complete:
  • XML library with source
  • UI
Kinda there:
  • Interface with XML library
Not started:
  • Documentation
  • Loading data from the parser into the UI
  • Saving it back


Optional: mod stinkogame.swf to enable one to start wherever they wished - though one could simply rename their level to "level1.1.1.xml" and immediately play it.

And a huge thanks to Chorch and beeawwb for decoding the level files.

_________________
Homerun Starrer wrote:
Sinscreen! It protects your skin from evil!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2005 11:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 8:54 pm
Posts: 99
What does level editing do?

<------ st00pid.

_________________
How about some Pan-Asian cuisine?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2005 11:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:55 pm
Posts: 81
you can create your own custom stinkoman levels!!

also in hte level im making, i have a small start, but when i try to add more platforms etc they dont appear. like i wanted the xmoving platform to lead to another one, but it doesnt work. i have the <d> tags right....heres the text to be saved as xml. the last line is something not showing up that should.

<levelProperties> <playerStartX>85</playerStartX> <playerStartY>144</playerStartY><ScrollLockY>false</ScrollLockY><ScrollLockX>false</ScrollLockX></levelProperties>

<SO> <d>1</d> <cT>Platform</cT> <sT>9</sT> <x>0</x> <y>250</y> </SO>

<SO> <d>2</d> <cT>Platform</cT> <sT>9</sT> <x>190</x> <y>250</y> </SO>

<SO> <d>3</d> <cT>Platform</cT> <sT>9</sT> <x>288</x> <y>250</y> </SO>

<SO> <d>4</d> <cT>Enemy</cT> <sT>0</sT> <x>250</x> <y>250</y> </SO>

<SO> <d>6</d> <cT>Enemy</cT> <sT>8</sT> <x>460</x> <y>250</y> </SO>

<SO> <d>7</d> <cT>Ladder</cT> <sT>0</sT> <x>350</x> <y>178</y> </SO>

<SO> <d>8</d> <cT>Platform</cT> <sT>9</sT> <x>320</x> <y>175</y> </SO>

<SO> <d>9</d> <cT>Platform</cT> <sT>9</sT> <x>516</x> <y>175</y> </SO>

<SO> <d>10</d> <cT>Hazard</cT> <sT>4</sT> <x>708</x> <y>181</y> </SO>

<SO> <d>11</d> <cT>Enemy</cT> <sT>7</sT> <x>640</x> <y>145</y> <addProps> <rRange>150</rRange> </addProps> </SO>

<SO> <d>12</d> <cT>Enemy</cT> <sT>3</sT> <x>490</x> <y>175</y> </SO>

<SO> <d>13</d> <cT>XMovingPlatform</cT> <sT>0</sT> <x>712</x> <y>175</y> <addProps> <rRange>140</rRange <maxVel>7</maxVel> </addProps> </SO>

<so> <d>14</d> <cT>Platform</cT> <sT>9</sT> <x>860</x> <y>180</y> </so>

its kinda big...on the forum...

_________________
Hippos can breath fire, I swear.

Bush Sux0rz


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 1:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 9:35 pm
Posts: 219
Location: In my own little world....
Um..........how do I make a new folder?

*sigh* I know, I'm stupid with tags!

_________________
Remember your special and unique, but so is everyone else, so your not all that diffrent!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 1:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:55 pm
Posts: 81
if ur on windows, theres an option on the left of your screen under "file and folder tasks" one says "make new folder" clicky clicky

_________________
Hippos can breath fire, I swear.

Bush Sux0rz


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 2:49 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 4:03 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Adelaide, SA
Regarding your moving platforms, I'm finding that overlapping objects cancel each other out, so maybe your platforms are overlapping at some point? That's the only thing I can think of at this point.

-B


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 4:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:55 pm
Posts: 81
i think i tested it to put a #9 platform, long grass, away from anything else, cuz i think ur right on that. but then, if u put 2 grasses with same <y> but overlapping <x> they connect....hm. ill keep on trying it out. but, in the xml i posted there...the last line should show up but it doesnt. oh well.

_________________
Hippos can breath fire, I swear.

Bush Sux0rz


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 4:32 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 4:03 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Adelaide, SA
I think, and again I'm hypothesising, that the grass platforms work fine because they don't include an AddProps tag controlling the motion. Possibly if the motions of your platforms would overlap, they cancel out?

-B


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 4:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 9:35 pm
Posts: 219
Location: In my own little world....
File and folder, where?

_________________
Remember your special and unique, but so is everyone else, so your not all that diffrent!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 4:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:55 pm
Posts: 81
http://www.geocities.com/nightmareproph ... n_help.txt

ok, it seems all objects behind the xmovingplatform are "deleted", well they dont show up at all when u run the .swf.

its really confusing, the order madders, ahhhhh. just...try to extend the last furthestrightmost platform more to the right with the same grass type, just, i cant and its strange.

<levelProperties> <playerStartX>85</playerStartX> <playerStartY>144</playerStartY><ScrollLockY>false</ScrollLockY><ScrollLockX>false</ScrollLockX></levelProperties>

<so> <d>14</d> <cT>Platform</cT> <sT>9</sT> <x>1080</x> <y>235</y> </so>

<SO> <d>1</d> <cT>Platform</cT> <sT>9</sT> <x>0</x> <y>250</y> </SO>

<SO> <d>2</d> <cT>Platform</cT> <sT>9</sT> <x>190</x> <y>250</y> </SO>

<SO> <d>3</d> <cT>Platform</cT> <sT>9</sT> <x>288</x> <y>250</y> </SO>

<SO> <d>4</d> <cT>Enemy</cT> <sT>0</sT> <x>250</x> <y>250</y> </SO>

<SO> <d>5</d> <cT>Enemy</cT> <sT>3</sT> <x>150</x> <y>250</y> </SO>

<SO> <d>6</d> <cT>Enemy</cT> <sT>8</sT> <x>460</x> <y>250</y> </SO>

<SO> <d>7</d> <cT>Ladder</cT> <sT>0</sT> <x>350</x> <y>178</y> </SO>

<SO> <d>8</d> <cT>Platform</cT> <sT>9</sT> <x>320</x> <y>175</y> </SO>

<SO> <d>9</d> <cT>Hazard</cT> <sT>4</sT> <x>702</x> <y>190</y> </SO>

<SO> <d>10</d> <cT>Platform</cT> <sT>9</sT> <x>516</x> <y>175</y> </SO>

<SO> <d>11</d> <cT>Enemy</cT> <sT>7</sT> <x>640</x> <y>145</y> <addProps> <rRange>150</rRange> </addProps> </SO>

<SO> <d>12</d> <cT>Enemy</cT> <sT>3</sT> <x>490</x> <y>175</y> </SO>

<SO> <d>13</d> <cT>Platform</cT> <sT>9</sT> <x>900</x> <y>175</y> </SO>

<SO> <d>999</d> <cT>XMovingPlatform</cT> <sT>0</sT> <x>712</x> <y>175</y> <addProps> <rRange>140</rRange <maxVel>7</maxVel> </addProps> </SO>

_________________
Hippos can breath fire, I swear.

Bush Sux0rz


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 4:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 9:35 pm
Posts: 219
Location: In my own little world....
Um......where is the "file and folder tasks" of which you speak of?

_________________
Remember your special and unique, but so is everyone else, so your not all that diffrent!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 5:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:55 pm
Posts: 81
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v707/ ... folder.jpg

_________________
Hippos can breath fire, I swear.

Bush Sux0rz


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 5:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 9:35 pm
Posts: 219
Location: In my own little world....
Um....how do I get the sidebar? I looked in the "veiw" tool up at the top.

_________________
Remember your special and unique, but so is everyone else, so your not all that diffrent!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 5:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2004 5:13 pm
Posts: 5
nigy, maybe it's not important, but i noticed that the <so> and </so> tags on your platform that is not showing up are the only ones in lowercase.
I'm not at my home computer and I don't want to download the files onto this computer, otherwise I would test it out and see wheter it's cap-sensitive.
For me, the order of the numbers in the <d> tags seemed simple: objects with a higher number showed up in front of lower numbered objects. I didn't have any trouble with anything not showing up.

_________________
bleh?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 6:16 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 4:03 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Adelaide, SA
Yes, tags are case sensitive as far as I have noticed. <cT> is different from <ct>, that's most likely it.

As for <d> ordering, higher numbers show up on top of lower numbers, and the only 'problem' this creates is that the higher numbers cut off the lower numbers in terms of width. So if you place a medium grass platform (no ends) and then Ends left and ends Right at different spots, you can control the width of the object. This is a feature, so you can create objects of different widths, etc.

-B


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 7:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:55 pm
Posts: 81
yeah, you were right about the case thing. but in the xml there, if i cut/paste the xmovingplatform line ahead halfway in my....lines of objects, all lines below that become null. void. i erased half the level in a test by cut/pasting the xmovingplatform line to the 5th line down....anyone else noticing this?

_________________
Hippos can breath fire, I swear.

Bush Sux0rz


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 1:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 11:16 pm
Posts: 692
Location: I do stuff
Bad XML parser! No cookie! :p

_________________
Homerun Starrer wrote:
Sinscreen! It protects your skin from evil!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 2:29 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 4:03 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Adelaide, SA
nigy wrote:
yeah, you were right about the case thing. but in the xml there, if i cut/paste the xmovingplatform line ahead halfway in my....lines of objects, all lines below that become null. void. i erased half the level in a test by cut/pasting the xmovingplatform line to the 5th line down....anyone else noticing this?


Again guessing, because I haven't tested it, but I believe the engine stops on an error.

-B


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 4:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 9:35 pm
Posts: 219
Location: In my own little world....
me wrote wrote:
Um....how do I get the sidebar? I looked in the "veiw" tool up at the top.


Yeah, how do I get the siebar in that picture?

_________________
Remember your special and unique, but so is everyone else, so your not all that diffrent!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 4:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 4:03 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Adelaide, SA
Try View->Explorer Bar->Folders

Remember, it's not needed to make a folder. You can right click some blank space (example: don't select a file) and choose New->Folder.

Image

-B


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 5:08 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 10:25 pm
Posts: 2439
Location: Empire of Sparkletania
Is there any way to make this work on my Mac?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 5:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:55 pm
Posts: 81
I dont imagine that it'd make a difference, you should just need the same files...in the right folders...

and not to pry beewaab, but IVE GOT THE SKINKOMAN LVL GUIDE IN MY FOLDER TOO!!!!

_________________
Hippos can breath fire, I swear.

Bush Sux0rz


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 5:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 4:03 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Adelaide, SA
nigy wrote:
and not to pry beewaab, but IVE GOT THE SKINKOMAN LVL GUIDE IN MY FOLDER TOO!!!!


It's a miracle! Who'd have thought! Do you have 1-1, 1-2, 1-3, and 2-1.gif in your level data folder too? (No, you probably don't. Cause I made those ones. :P)

-B


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 5:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:55 pm
Posts: 81
noooooooooo not fair......

hey, uh, if u wanted to make a game with more than 5 levels, like 1.1, 1.2, 2.1, 2.2, 3.3 and another one, could you do it? like what would happen if u had a 1.3 xml file? would it go to that after beating 1.2 or would i automaticaly skip to 2.1?

and my level is awxome (how do you get in in the white quoty box as to make it smaller on the forum?)

_________________
Hippos can breath fire, I swear.

Bush Sux0rz


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 205 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group